Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All -

While stopped at a particularly long stoplight, I started playing with the trip display settings and stumbled on the Eco Mode screens. I can't for the life of me figure out what they are saying.

I even read the pages in the manual which didn't help at all.

Are those different settings you can pick which will adjust when the gear-shift dummy light goes off in order to help attain better fuel economy or better performance? And what is the point of the leaves that are displayed, they don't do anything? And what about the score that the last screen mentions - where do I see my 'score'?

Any help is appreciated!

·
Registered
353 Posts
The eco mode screen lets you know how economically you're driving. The more petals or leaves that are green, the better your EcoMode "score" will be. So gear shifting is being in the appropriate gear, speed is not going super fast, and anticipation is accelerating and braking smoothly, rather than hard accel and hard brake.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So if I leave it on the eco mode screen, then those leaves will change in accordance with each respective screen? So on the Anticipation screen, it'll tell me how well I do at easing into accelerating and braking by showing me more or less leaves?

·
Registered
98 Posts
The leaves will change while you drive, you can be on any screen. The individual screens give advice based on observed driving style (supposedly) the advice is always the same on mine though.

·
Registered
362 Posts
My speed and anticipation scores always seem to be maxed, but I've had trouble getting the shifting score to even grow one leaf. :LOL:

But then the other day I checked it and I had like 4 leafs on shifting.. Not sure what I was doing differently.

Anyway, it's a fun little minigame.

·
Registered
894 Posts