Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I work as an outside sales rep and due to a string of good years and a promotion I am going to be allowed to pick my next company car. I have narrowed it down to the Focus ST and 2013 Fusion with the 1.6 ecoboost and manual. The problem is obviously I have never sat in a new focus with recaros. My miles will be going down a bit(from about 50k to 35-40k a year) as I will be taking more sales trips outside my territory to work with the other reps. But I am a bit concerned about spending and average of 4 hours a day in the ST. So is there anyone who has had a car with similar recaros or the previous ST? How are those seats on extended trips? Does anyone out there think I am insane for even considering the ST for repmobile duty? I already have a solution for the summer tires. My head says go with the fusion; sharp car, bigger backseat, more range, but my heart says go with the ST. I have never had an enthusiast's car like that with any kind of power(Kick myself in the head time to time about the super clean 1990 M3 I could have bought 13 years ago) and did just beat cancer..... So what does everyone think?

·
Registered
222 Posts
I would go with the Fusion. The ST is a fun hatch, with great compromise between price and utility, but it isn't a business car. I openly acknowledge that the ST is a purchase I intend to make with a healthy serving of juvenile desire, and I am even going to temper the looks a little by going with black. If I had to drive a company car every day, that projected me in a sales environment, I would choose something that presents me as refined, distinctive, and confident, the Fusion will attain that in Sterling Grey. The ST, I believe, will send the wrong vibe for you as a company representative.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #4