Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
894 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In the VW world, the Bentley's Manual is the standard reference for do-it-yourself service. Is there an equivalent standard reference for the Focus? And will it be available for this engine?

Ross-Tech also makes this great software/CAN-BUS interface for computer diagnostics in newer VWs. Is there an equivalent for Ford? (I'm not talking about the simple Pep-boys type scanners, but an interface that really lets you reprogram stuff and map out engine performance, etc.)

Thanks! (As you can tell, I'm a complete Ford newbie.)

·
Registered
753 Posts
I usually try to get the Ford Shop Manual. I have one for my Mustang and it's the best manual I've ever seen. I won't waste my time with those Chilton or Haynes manuals. Only problem is that it can be hard to get your hands on one of the Ford Shop Manuals.

As for software, you can usually by an ODB II reader and software http://www.amazon.com/ElmScan-Compact-OBD-II-Diagnostic-Software/dp/B002PYBZJO/ref=sr_1_9?ie=UTF8&qid=1343095544&sr=8-9&keywords=odb+ii+scanner to pull diagnostic information and that's fairly cheap. However reprogramming the computer is a different story. The companies that make tuners will have an update for the ST eventually but it will probably take awhile.

·
Registered
894 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the info. By "reprogramming" - I'm not talking about remapping the ECU; more about changing various options like turning off the beep for the alarm, or turning off the DRLs, or adjusting the number of flashes when you tap the turn signal. Perhaps that kind of customization is now all controlled by the MyTouch system?

·
Director of Web Relations
4,009 Posts
Not by MFT Hamiltonian. There are some minor tweaks that can be made like how long the lights stay on after you turn the car off. But it might not even be an option on the ST.

·
Registered
753 Posts