Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 20 of 104 Posts

·
Registered
753 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been running Motorcraft Synthetic Blend 5W-20 in my Focus's for the past 10 years with no problems. The new ST takes 5W-30. Which is the same as my Mustang which I'm in the process of changing from Synthetic Blend to full Synthetic. My brother swears by Mobile1 Full Synthetic. But I don't exactly trust his opinions. I haven't had any issues with Motorcraft oil on my other vehicles and don't see a huge reason to change that. So I was wondering what everyone else was planning on running as far as brand goes and if they were going to run a Synth-Blend or a Full Synthetic.

·
Registered
59 Posts
I've been using Mobil 1 full synthetic in my F-150 for 10 years. Also used it in my wife's previous Mazda 6 for 7 years, and now in her new Mazda 6 for the past year. No issues to report.
And it's available at Wal-Mart for a reasonable price.

·
Director of Web Relations
4,009 Posts
So I've been running Motorcraft Synthetic Blend 5W-20 in my Focus's for the past 10 years with no problems. The new ST takes 5W-30.
Funny, the non ST Focus and just about everything else in the Ford fleet runs on 5W-20.

I've been using Castrol Synthetic in everything I own for the past 10 years. No complaints at all. Can finally walk into the parts store and buy in a five quart size right off the shelf.

Did anyone else notice that the ST takes nearly six quarts of oil at oil change?

·
Registered
753 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yeah, I saw that, 5.7 quarts, gonna make oil changes annoying. I'll usually buy the 5-quart jugs of oil so I'll probably keep two. I'd like to run the same kind of oil in both the Mustang and the Focus but I find it hard to believe that the same 5W-30 that a 19 year old 302 runs is good for a new 2.0L Turbo motor.

·
Registered
894 Posts